2012 Ignatz Awards

Ignatz Awards The Ignatz Awards, named for the character in the classic comic strip Krazy Kat by George Herriman, is a festival prize that recognizes outstanding achievement in comics and cartooning.

The ballot is created by a panel of five cartoonists and is voted on by the attendees of the SPX festival. This year’s jurors are Edie Fake, Minty Lewis, Dylan Meconis, Lark Pien and Julia Wertz.

The only place to cast a ballot for the Ignatz awards is at SPX 2012! Come on out and be heard (also, you’ll have a fabulous time!).

The 2012 Ignatz award nominees are:

Outstanding Artist
Marc Bell – Pure Pajamas (Drawn & Quarterly)
Inés Estrada – Ojitos Borrosos (Self-published)
Jaime Hernandez – Love and Rockets New Stories (Fantagraphics)
Craig Thompson – Habibi (Pantheon)
Matthew Thurber – 1 800 Mice (Picturebox)

Outstanding Anthology or Collection
Big Questions – Anders Nilson (Drawn & Quarterly)
Hark! A Vagrant – Kate Beaton (Drawn & Quarterly)
The Man Who Grew His Beard – Olivier Schrauwen (Fantagraphics)
Nobrow #6 – Various artists (Nobrow)
Ojitos Borrosos – Inés Estrada (Self-published)

Outstanding Graphic Novel
Big Questions by Anders Nilsen (Drawn & Quarterly)
Harvey Pekar’s Cleveland by Harvey Pekar and Joseph Remnant (Top Shelf/Zip)
My Friend Dahmer by Derf Backderf (Abrams ComicArts)
Troop 142 by Mike Dawson (Secret Acres)
A Zoo In Winter by Jiro Taniguchi (Fanfare/Ponent Mon)

Outstanding Story
1 800 Mice by Matthew Thurber (Picturebox)
“Keith or Steve,” Mome #22, by Nick Drnaso (Fantagraphics)
Lucille by Ludovic Debeurme (Top Shelf)
“Return to Me,” Love & Rockets New Stories #4, by Jaime Hernandez (Fantagraphics)
“The  Weeper,” Papercutter #17, by Jason Martin and Jesse Reklaw (Tugboat Press)

Promising New Talent
Lauren Barnett – Me Likes You Very Much (Hic & Hoc Publications)
Clara Besijelle – The Lobster King (Self-published)
Tessa Brunton – Passage (Sparkplug Books)
Lila Quintero Weaver – Dark Room: A Memoir in Black and White (University of Alabama Press)
Lale Westvind – Hot Dog Beach (Self-published)

Outstanding Series
Black Mass by Patrick Kyle (Mother Books)
Eye of the Majestic Creature by Leslie Stein (Self-published)
Ganges by Kevin Huizenga (Fantagraphics)
Love and Rockets New Stories by The Hernandez Brothers (Fantagraphics)
Pope Hats by Ethan Rilly (AdHouse Books)

Outstanding Comic

Hot Dog Beach #2 by Lale Westvind (Self-published)
Passage by Tessa Brunton (Sparkplug Books)
Pterodactyl Hunters by Brendan Leach (Top Shelf)
The Sixth Gun #17 by Brian Hurtt and Cullen Bunn (Oni Press)
Pope Hats #2 by Ethan Rilly (AdHouse Books)

Outstanding Mini-Comic
The Death of Elijah Lovejoy by Noah Van Sciver (2D Cloud)
Hypnotic Induction Technique by Grant Reynolds (Self-published)
The Monkey in the Basement and Other Delusions by Corinne Mucha (Retrofit Comics)
Ramble On #2 by Calvin Wong (Self-published)
RAV #6 by Mickey Zacchilli (Self-published)

Outstanding Online Comic

Amazing Facts…and Beyond! with Leon Beyond by Dan Zettwoch and Kevin Huizenga: http://leonbeyondfacts.blogspot.com/
Black Is the Color by Julia Gfrorer: http://studygroupcomics.com/main/black-is-the-color-by-julia-gfrorer/
Lucky by Gabrielle Bell – http://gabriellebell.com/
Starslip by Kris Straub – http://starslip.com/
SuperMutant Magic Academy by Jillian Tamaki: http://mutantmagic.com/


Click here for the Ignatz Awards guidelines for eligibility and submissions.

2011 Ignatz Awards Ceremony


2011 Ignatz Award Winners

In order of presentation:

Outstanding Mini Comic

  • Ben Died of a Train, Box Brown

Outstanding Anthology or Collection

  • I Will Bite You, Joseph Lambert

Outstanding Online Comic

  • Hark! A Vagrant, Kate Beaton

Promising New Talent

  • Darryl Ayo Brathwaite

Outstanding Story

Browntown, Jaime Hernandez

  • Outstanding Series

Everything Dies, Box Brown

Outstanding Comic

  • Lose #3, Michael DeForge

Outstanding Graphic Novel

  • Gaylord Phoenix, Edie Fake

Outstanding Artist

  • Joseph Lambert, I Will Bite You

Special thanks to Dustin Harbin for being a great host! We should have video up soon!

2011 Ignatz Award Nominees

[EXPAND Where to buy this year’s nominees]If you’d like to check out the Ignatz Awards nominees in person, here’s a quick guide on where they will be sold at the show. Of course, all books are going to be subject to availability.

If there are any corrections or clarifications, please email [email protected]

Box Brown will have Everything Dies (Outstanding Series) and Ben Died of a Train (Outstanding Mini-Comic).

Darryl Ayo Brathwaite (Promising New Talent) can’t exactly sell House of Twelve Monthly #3 at the show since it’s a Comixology title, but he will be exhibiting.

Joseph Lambert will have copies of  I Will Bite You (Outstanding Artist, Outstanding Anthology or Collection).

Tom Neely will have Black Eye, edited by Ryan Standfest (Outstanding Anthology or Collection), Danger Country #1, Levon Jihanian (Outstanding Comic, Outstanding Mini-Comic), and Habitat #2, Dunja Jankovic (Outstanding Comic).

Marian Runk will have The Magic Hedge (Outstanding Comic) as well as copies of Three #1, edited by Robert Kirby (Outstanding Anthology or Collection; Outstanding Story, “Weekends Abroad” by Eric Orner).

Laura Terry will have Morning Song (Outstanding Mini-comic).

AdHouse Books will have Jesse Jacobs’ Even the Giants (Promising New Talent), Jon McNaught’s Birchfield Close (Promising New Talent) and Jesse Moynihan’s Forming (Promising New Talent) as well as copies of Michael DeForge’s Lose #3 (Outstanding Artist, Outstanding Series, Outstanding Comic).

Drawn & Quarterly will have Make Me a Woman by Vanessa Davis (Outstanding Anthology or Collection) and Acme Novelty Library #20 by Chris Ware (Outstanding Story, “LINT”).

Fantagraphics will have Carol Tyler’s You’ll Never Know, Vol 2: Collateral Damage (Outstanding Artist, Outstanding Graphic Novel), Love and Rockets: New Stories No. 3 by Jaime Hernandez (“Browntown,” Outstanding Story), Dungeon Quest by Joe Daly (Outstanding Series) and Special Exits by Joyce Farmer (Outstanding Graphic Novel).

Picturebox will have Renee French’s H-Day (Outstanding Arist) and a limited number of copies of Sammy Harkham’s Crickets #3 (“Blood of the Virgin,” Outstanding Story; Outstanding Series; Outstanding Comic).

Secret Acres will have Edie Fake’s Gaylord Phoenix (Outstanding Artist, Outstanding Graphic Novel, Outstanding Mini-Comic).

Sparkplug Books will have Gay Genius, edited by Annie Murphy (Outstanding Anthology or Collection), Reich by Elijah Brubaker (Outstanding Series) and The Heavy Hand by Chris Cilla
(Outstanding Graphic Novel).

Tugboat Press will have Papercutter #15 (Outstanding Story, “The most gripping mind-exploding triumphantly electric of our time,” Jonas Madden-Conner).

While Tony Breed (Promising New Talent, Outstanding Online Comic, Finn and Charlie are Hitched) will not be exhibiting at Small Press Expo, he offers a coupon code “IGNATZ” for purchases on his site – http://hitchedcomic.com/ – through Sept. 11.[/EXPAND]

Outstanding Artist (excerpts)

Outstanding Anthology or Collection (excerpts)

Outstanding Story (excerpts)

Outstanding Series (excerpts)

Outstanding Comic (excerpts)

Outstanding Online Comic (excerpts)

Outstanding Graphic Novel (excerpts)

Promising New Talent (excerpts)

Outstanding Mini-Comic (excerpts)

 2011 Ignatz Jury

  • Rina Ayuyang
  • Mike Dawson
  • Kris Dresen
  • Theo Ellsworth
  • John Porcellino


Past Awards: